“Snow” day + a good book = perfection

Posted: January 24, 2017 in Reading
Tags:

I went to bed last night resigned to the fact that I’ve caught the head cold that so many of you have been bravely battling for the past few weeks. The itchy, scratchy throat, watery eyes, and soon-to-be runny nose is just a fact of life, particularly when we spend so much of the day together at school. How grateful was I when my phone rang while I was having my coffee this morning to hear Dr. Webb announce that today there would be no school. Snow day! Or in this case, ice day!  Don’t get me wrong–I love going to school every day, but today, not feeling 100% with the chance to get cozy on our couch and finish a great book by one of my favorite authors, was just a wonderful surprise!

Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo brings three girls together when they meet at Ida Nee’s baton twirling class one hot summer day in Florida. Each girl, Raymie, Beverly, and Louisiana, is at Ida’s for very different reasons, and although they aren’t aware of it at the beginning of the story, they have more in common than they realize. Beware though…this story might cause you laugh out loud as you read one page, cry the next, and will most definitely draw you in as the three set out on a mission of tremendous importance.

Chester, our cat, loves a good book too!

Chester, our cat, loves a good book too!

Comments
  1. calafanpage says:

    Yeah, my cat when she wants my mom to get up she splashes water in her face.XD

  2. Nancy Watson says:

    I’m following your blog!! Love it, Feel better, Nancy

    Sincerely,

    Nancy Watson Bangor High School Librarian

    On Tue, Jan 24, 2017 at 10:02 AM, Reading Rocks @ JFDS wrote:

    > Mrs. Patterson posted: “I went to bed last night resigned to the fact that > I’ve caught the head cold that so many of you have been bravely battling > for the past few weeks. The itchy, scratchy throat, watery eyes, and > soon-to-be runny nose is just a fact of life, particularly whe” >

Leave a Reply

