One Book, One School @ JFDS

Posted: October 23, 2016 in Reading
Tags: ,

seventh-most-important-thingWe are excited to announce that every student and faculty member at James F. Doughty School will receive a copy of our fall discussion book, The Seventh Most Important Thing by Shelley Pearsall, as a gift from our school. We pride ourselves on being a school of readers, and after hosting numerous book discussion opportunities and author Skypes throughout the years, we are so fortunate to have the chance to share this beautiful story with everyone in our building. Thanks to Shelley Pearsall’s generous offer of donating three free Skype sessions, each grade will have the opportunity to meet Shelley and discuss the book during the school day on December 2nd.

Here are some important dates relating to the book:

  • 11/7 “Tour” the world’s most famous museums, 2:30-4:00
  • 11/9 Listen to the music, see some shows, and sample some foods from 1963 2:30-4:00
  • 11/16 Make art from recycled materials, 2:30-4:00
  • 11/17-18 and 12/1-2 Students and faculty are encouraged to bring in or make an object that represents them to hang on our tree in the Library
  • 12/2 Grade 6, 7 & 8 students Skype and discuss the book with author Shelley Pearsall
Comments
  1. DefNotStarDelux says:

    We finished it it was amazing. Don’t want to tell any spoilers.

  2. DefNotStarDelux says:

    I finished this book like a month ago also this is one of the best books ever.

  3. Anonymous says:

    I finished reading the book over the weekend. I was not impressed with it, I feel as if the Author could have put some more effort into Characters and into the “Most Important Thing” chapters. It might just be me but they felt to short and not detailed, I mean come on they are the “Important” thing so why shed so little light on it. It seemed to me that they were just meaningless and yes before you ask I know they were supposed to represent Important moments in Arthurs life but some were just to short to the point were I didn’t even care what was happening. There is a silver lining though there was one thing that, even though short, was the best message and as the title states it was the seventh most important thing being cardboard. My other issue with the book is the near ending. So I was reading along and I got to the part were Mr. Hampton died and I feel like he died to early I would have had him die after some more interactions with Arthur because there were few interactions with the two that were meaningful which is what I think the book did best. The books meaningful moments made me feel the book was worth reading and actually had me entertained and when (ok quick spoiler ahead so stop reading if you don’t want any) Arthur told Mr. Hampton about his dad and that whole moment of trust and reminiscence came I thought that there would be more moments like that and the book would take a turn from boring to meaningful, in a way. Instead we got NOPE he’s dead no more moments like that Arthur will be in a glum mood and start to think like a idiot (in my opinion) again. Now again you might be saying “Oh you are so harsh on the book, you shouldn’t be complaining so much” listen we all have out opinions and this is just mine and I’m sorry if it hurt your feelings, which I really don’t think you should be hurt by an opinion, then I’m sorry. Thank you for reading.

    Rating: 1 and a half stars
    .Good moments but other than that not entertaining
    .To many “Important” chapters wasted
    .Not that much effort in Characters

  4. booker fox says:

    So our class has been reading The Seven Most Important Thing and we are around chapter 21,22 what chapter are you guys on?

Leave a Reply

