Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

Posted: January 22, 2014 in Reading
Tags: , , ,

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit it, but I struggled to find new book to read after we all read Wonder this fall.

I couldn’t help comparing every book to what I still consider a masterpiece of middle grade fiction.

So, how did I dig myself out of my non-reading hole?

I went back to my favorite reader’s advisory tools: NoveList K-8 Plus, Teenreads.com, Kidsreads.com and Goodreads. I scanned  lists, read reviews, wrote some titles down, visited the Bangor Public Library and local bookstores.

Countingby7s

One title in particular showed up on lots of “best” lists, and bookstore shelves, Counting by 7s by Holly Goldberg Sloan. But something about the title didn’t hook me. There I stood, in the middle of Briar Patch bookstore downtown, and I thought… these reviewers must know something I don’t…yet. So I bought the book, and needless to say, I’ve found another masterpiece of middle grade fiction.

Readers, please do me a GIGANTIC favor and visit Ms. Sloan’s website and download the first chapter of Counting by 7s, and then tell me whether you are interested in reading the rest of the book by taking the poll, below!

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    We read that in our Mr. Staff’s ela class and I really liked this book. It really got good in the end!:)

  2. #darth vader has read it ALL says:

    Counting by sevens is the best book EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Julia says:

    This book is really good I am reading it with Mr.Staff

  4. maddy123456 says:

    I agree. Ithink i am going to try to put it on hold 🙂

  5. jennjk says:

    This book is cool and i think you should read it.

  6. Natasha says:

    I love the book we are reading.

  7. madeleine says:

    The book is really good so far.

  8. Anonymous says:

    I love that book

  9. Calla :D says:

    Indeed it does sound like a good book. I was hooked already when I had read the first chapter; I would read this in a heartbeat.

  10. Emma says:

    This book just doesn’t seem to interest me, I would recommend some books as a school wide read, “Ender’s Game”, “Percy Jackson and the Olympians, the Lightning Thief”, “The Coldest Girl in Coldtown”, “Divergent”, “The City of Bones”, and “Team Human”. These offer some good ideas for activities, and some of these have movies coming out, or are already out which will allow motivation to read the books, that inspired the movies.

  11. Anonymous says:

    It looks like a good book.

  12. Anonymous says:

    It seems like a good book and im going to try to get a copy

Leave a Reply

