Add your book, magazine, eBook, Playaway, suggestions! Reply to this post!

Posted: April 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

I love spring for so many reasons. I love seeing the Forsythia bushes bloom all over town (the bushes with lots of yellow blossoms). I love watching our students nurture their reading by placing books on hold, offering recommendations to friends, and requesting books from other libraries. And, I love when I  have the chance to order new materials for our library!

Here’s your chance to offer suggestions for new library books, magazines, eBooks, and Playaways! Just click REPLY to this post and provide as much information as you have. For example, a student who loves science fiction, but doesn’t have an author in mind, might write “More science fiction with aliens, please!”

Don’t wait too long–my orders have to be in soon! And, thank you in advance for your ideas!

Comments
  1. BriC. says:

    i look forward to try reading all the Maine Student Book Award books this year! already checked out two and got through one. Bluefish was an amazing book. Mrs.Patterson was right to all the sixth graders at our first assembly. You would enjoy reading it.

  2. C.A.P. #2 PEASE#2 says:

    I think that you should get more copies of ” Guinness World Records 2012″ because I have been on the list for half of the school year and I have been patient and anxious to read it so please get more copies of it and thank you again for all your help in library with me 🙂 😀 😉 :T

  3. C.A.P. #2 PEASE#2 says:

    I think that you should get more copies of ” Guinness World Records 2012″ because I have been on the list for half of the school year and I have been patient and anxious to read it so please get more copies of it and thank you again for all your help in library with me 🙂 :3 😀 😉 ;D

  4. 5th Graders Visiting says:

    I would recommend Woods Runner because it is a good action fiction book.

    I would recommend Shilo because it is an interesting book about a dog’s life.

  5. 5th Graders Visiting says:

    Two books that we would recommend are, Hunger Games Series and Twilight.

  6. C.A.P. #2 PEASE#2 says:

    Please get that new “Big Nate” I read those books and I loved those books so I would really appreciate if you get the new “Big Nate” by the way thank you for helping me find books this year I really liked some of the books that you suggested to me thanks you again Mrs.Patterson I truly appreciate it 😉 🙂 😀

  7. Noah B. says:

    Please get some more sports book, but I don’t really like reading but if you get more it will interest me to 🙂

    0

    • Anonymous says:

      Please get some more Guinness World Records books ( specifically 2008, 2009, 2010, or 2011) because I love those books!!!! 🙂 😉 😀

    • C.A.P. #2 PEASE#2 says:

      Please get some more Guinness World Records books ( specifically 2008, 2009, 2010, or 2011) because I love those books!!!! 🙂 😉

  8. -Ritza- says:

    The Raven Boys By Maggie Steifvater.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Thanks for the heads-up… this book is coming out in September, so do me a favor and remind me to pick it up at the bookstore when we are back at school! 🙂

  9. Noah B says:

    Please get some more sports illustrated, because i really enjoy them :O

  10. Noah B. says:

    Please get some more BMX Ride magazines, I know that they only come like ones a month please try
    😛

  11. Corey P. says:

    Mrs.Patterson I think you should add Guinness World Records 2008.

  12. Derek M. says:

    I think there should be some more books by the authors named Tim Green and more of the copies that the school already has.

    • Derek M. says:

      It also has a story behind each book and I’m reading Rivals wich is a pretty good book so far but my favorite is FOOTBALL HERO.

      • Alana B says:

        Omg I thought that no one had ever heard of Virals. Did you know it has a second book called
        Seizure. I have read the second and ordered the first from the book fair

    • Jeffrey.S says:

      Mrs.Patterson Can you plz get more Xbox magazines

  13. Jerome E. says:

    I think that you should get some more baseball and football magazines.

  14. rosa says:

    More of the Hunger Games books

  15. Noah B. says:

    Mrs. Patterson plz get any new football books you see, from Tom GREEN:)

  16. Ben R. says:

    Hello.:) I would love it if you got the fourth Amulet so I can read the whole series thank you. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  17. Kurt says:

    I recommend the Hunger Games triolgy!!!!!

  18. Mariah A. says:

    In the story In a Heartbeat Loretta Ellsworth. Is a story about a teenage girl named Eagan, she has a bad heart so she has to get a heart transplant. This book is a great book, if you like sports and ice skating I recommend this book for you. What I liked about this book was that you feel like yo are right there with Eagan and her family and friends.

  19. Alana J. C. says:

    I think that we should get some books by Brandon Mull. He’s a very good author, and you can picture things very well through his writing.

  20. Skyelynne W. says:

    Mrs. Patterson I think you should get “The Egypt Game” It is a mystery and a really great book. 😉

  21. Gavin L. says:

    Mrs. P I think you should get the 4th Amulet book 🙂

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      You bet! It’s called Amulet: the last council. And, I just saw in NoveList that there is a new collection of graphic novelists’ work called Explorer: the mystery boxes, that I will also order! Thanks Gavin

  22. Carli K. says:

    I think you should get a book called Top 8, by Katie Finn. Also, I think the library should get the books called Unfriended, and Whats Your Status, by Katie Finn.
    Thanks!

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Carli, I will consider these, but have you read the Ally Carter mystery series called the Gallagher Girls? The main characters are at a boarding school where they are learning how to become spies, and the problems with having a double identity. The first in the series is I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You.

    • Carli K. says:

      I will look into it. thanks!

  23. Caleb M. says:

    Could you get more books by the author D.J. Machale 🙂

  24. Corey P. says:

    Mrs.Patterson “Dr.Proctor Fart Powder” is the best book you should get it 🙂

  25. Corey P. says:

    Mrs.Patterson, can you get the book ” Dr.Proctor’s Fart Powder”? Its the best book I’ve ever read. There are 3 books and they are all FANTASTIC!!!!!:)

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Will do. They sound perfect for kids who like Diary of a Wimpy Kid and Time Warp Trio books.

  26. Charity D. says:

    I would really recommend the “Left Behind” series for kids by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins.
    These books are about a group of teenagers that get left behind in the rapture and face many dangerous situations. (Oh, yeah, if you get these books DO NOT get only books 1-12 because book 12 is LITERALLY a major cliff-hanger! You can see for yourself if you read them.)

  27. David L. says:

    I think that you should get the next book in the series of “I am number four”, Which is called “The power of six”, because it’s a great book and it’s very popular. The author of these books is also coming out with another book in the series, although I can’ t remember what it’s called. Also I think you should complete the series of “The dark is rising” By Susan Cooper.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      You’re right on the Susan Cooper series– Mr. Tabor, one of our substitute teachers who is also a big reader like you mentioned that I had some gaps in the Dark is Rising series. Good noticing. And, yes, I will get The Power of Six. Have you read The Alfred Kropp books yet? Take a look on NoveList or Kidsreads.com

  28. Joe M. says:

    Also, I’m not sure if we have the entire Artemis Fowl series, but if not we definitely need them. Actually there is another book called Seeker, but I’m not entirely sure who it’s by. But if you can find out who it’s by Mrs. Patterson, it would definitely be worth the effort.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      I will make sure we have all of the Artemis Fowl titles–amazing series. And it’s high time I get the first in hardcover…our paperback is about to bite the dust. As for Seeker…I searched NoveList and could use more info. Thanks Joe!

  29. Brendan M. says:

    I think you should buy the book The Enchantress. It’s the last book in the Nicholas Flamel series and it’s the only one that the library needs to complete the series!

  30. JackC says:

    Is there any more books in the Children Of The Lamp series (I think that’s the name of them, has Cobra King of Kathmundo) If there is, it would be really nice to have the rest.

  31. Sydnie M. says:

    I loved loved love the books in the Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder and i don’t see any of them in the library so if you want books that are about old fashioned country life you should pick up some of those!

  32. Rya M. says:

    I just finished reading The Familiars, by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson. It is a wonderful fantasy! 🙂 At the end of the book, there are a couple of chapters from the next book in the series. This new book is called The Familiars, Secrets of the Crown. I was sad come to find out that the library doesn’t have this book. Mrs. Patterson, please find this book for the library! 😀 I would love to read it! 🙂

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Will do Rya. And, I think these will be great for kids who like the Warriors series, and Guardians of Ga’Hoole by Lasky.

  33. Robyn M. says:

    You should order books by L. S. Matthews. She’s an english writer, and her books aren’t that bad! Out of all her books, I love Lexi. It was amazing!

  34. Sydnie M. says:

    I think u should get the book The Secret Identity of Devan Delaney because i have read the first book:Four Truths and a Lie and loved it it would be great if u could get the sequel.

  35. Michael C. says:

    Mrs. Patterson I like mortal kombat game and i’d like you to get the book too because i’m really like the not into worldly books and fighting, but stuff that doesn’t exist so can you try to get a book of mortal kombat.

  36. Lucas R says:

    I would like it if you get more Naruto comic books, Mrs.Patterson.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Lucas, I will do my best, but sometimes these are hard to find from the company I purchase books from. Did you know the Bangor Public Library has an amazing collection of graphic novels, including many of the Naruto books?

  37. Gavin L. says:

    Mrs. Patterson I think you should get the whole series of Amulet because you’ve got all most the whole series except the last book. 🙂

  38. Noah B. says:

    Mrs. Patterson, please get the football books called, The Rivals. I bet most of the football fans would love it, LIKE ME!!!!!! :p

  39. ethan f says:

    you should get the hole series of the lighting thief for audio book

  40. Kurt says:

    mrs.paterson please!!!!!! get the Hunger Games triogly please!!!!!!

  41. Mariah A. says:

    You should get more dirt rider magazines and some fourwheeling magizines

  42. Ben R. says:

    When or If you can please get the 4th amulet. 🙂

  43. Alana J. C. says:

    I think that we should add another Island of the Blue Dolphins book because the one we have in the library is in bad condition. We should also get more Manga.

  44. Samantha W. says:

    There has always been a manga I’ve been a fan of. I suggest that you add Death Note to your library!

  45. Mel T. says:

    Please get the third book in the Hex Hall series, Spell Bound.

  46. Taylor M. says:

    Mrs.Patterson I hope you can get the Fantastic Secret of Owen Jester for audio book.

  47. -Ritza- says:

    There’s one more series that you don’t have completed it’s the Immortal series and the library only needs 2 more books it’s Night Star, and Everlasting. I have to say you need these books to complete the series because when I first started reading the series I couldn’t stop and it’s a really good series so I for those of you who haven’t read them read them! Trust me it’s worth it.

    • Lori Patterson says:

      Let’s see if they are at th book fair–if not I will add them to the book order. Thanks Maritza!!

  48. Olivia B. says:

    I think we should get more books by Sharon Creech. I have read all the books by her in the library I really like her 🙂

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Olivia, do me a big favor and use MARVEL’s NoveList K-8 Plus to see what books we don’t yet have by Sharon Creech. Thanks!

      • Olivia B. says:

        The Unfinished Angel, A Fine fine School, Fishing in the air, Pleasing the ghost, and Bloomability are
        some books we don’t have by her. (Sharon Creech)

  49. BG says:

    I think we should get more Richard Peck books 😉

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Great idea–he’s a fantastic author. Any idea of what books we’re missing? If you have time, go to NoveList K-8 in MARVEL and search for Richard Peck.

  50. g-riff says:

    i thought of another series. The series is called CHERUB. Mrs.Patterson already has the second one in the library but u should get the 1st and the rest of them. It’s a really good series if u like spy books or the MI5.

    Thanks

  51. William H. says:

    I think the media center should also add the book Cahills vs. Vespers:The Dead Of Night.I mean, if the other 39 clues books were awesome, this one has to be awesome as well.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      You’re right William–will do. I hope I can pick some up at the Buy 1, Get 1 free book fair the week of the 22nd. That way we can get some of the 39 Clues for free 🙂

  52. Genevieve.W says:

    You should get the book The Lucky One

  53. Jared M. says:

    I have tons of books I want to be able to read. On the beginning of the list, is Serpent’s Shadow, by Rick Riordan. I would also like to see, of course, The Mark of Athena!!!!!! I would also like some more Marvel and DC Comic books. Thank you.

  54. Keegan F. says:

    we should get the hunger pains series

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Keegan, I saw the Hunger Pains book in hands this winter. Do you know if the Catching Fire book is out yet?

      • Sydnie M. says:

        What are the hunger pains series are you guys talking about the Hunger Games series because that’s great too.

  55. Emma P. says:

    Otaku USA, and manga which the author Arina Tanemura writes or, manga in general please!

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Emma, is Otaku a series? Help! And I will look for titles by Arina Tanemura. Do you have a favorite book by her?

  56. g-riff says:

    Along with the walking dead i think we should have more zombie books in general.i want to learn all about them before(as my brother thinks) the big zombie apocalypse. 🙂

  57. BRITTANY says:

    I think we should get the Canning Season by Polly Horvath. It is only at the Bangor Library and I wish to get it here 3:) 🙂

  58. BRITTANY says:

    I think we should get more books like Thirteen and Thirteen + 1 by Lauren Myracle I really like the series and wish to read more 🙂

  59. Karl. S says:

    You should definitely add some Clive Cussler books.

    • Joe M. says:

      Yeah, Clive Cussler books are amazing. I read Plague Ship, and I’m pretty sure it’s the first in the Oregon series. Those are so far my favorite, but all of the intertwine.

  60. Fletcher & Kirk says:

    You should get The Islands of the Blessed (by Nancy Farmer). It’s the third book in the Sea of Trolls series.

  61. Demitria C-G :) says:

    We should get ACCESS DENIED (and other eighth grade error messages). It’s the sequel to Click Here (to see how I survived seventh grade). I really liked that book. I bet the sequel’s really good!

  62. The school library should have more books by the author D.J. MacHale keep that in mind. 😉

  63. -Ritza is Backkkk- says:

    I think that you should order all the Dead Is series and, the library has three of them but there are four more and I’ll list them: Dead is so last year, Dead is a battlefield, and Dead is not a option, also Dead is a killer tune. I would love for the library to get these books. Thank you

  64. Anonymous says:

    The Serpant’s Shadow by Rick Riordan.

  65. Anonymous says:

    Lincons killer

  66. Anonymous says:

    Theres a good vampire series Dead until dark,dead in dallas,and a bunch of others they go with the series on HBO True Blood

  67. seth.c says:

    You should defintely get the book Rise of the Nine by Pitticus Lore when it comes out also the Eleventh John Flanagan series, Serpant’s Shadow by Rick Riordan, and Last slayer chronicles book two

  68. Anonymous says:

    The Walking Dead comic books is the best zombie reading out there and i think it would give readers a scare by:Robert Kirkmen

  69. Anonymous says:

    The Host by:Stephanie Meyers its about aliens with special powers.

  70. Charlie F says:

    The media center should add more books on the Renaissance and the middle ages.

  71. Shelby-Lynn says:

    I would also like it if Mrs. Patterson would get the book Half Apon A Time!!!!!!!!!!!:)

  72. Tyler O. says:

    Can you get more Redsox, Celtics, Patriots books please 🙂
    thanks

  73. Shelby-Lynn says:

    I would like it if Mrs. Patterson would order all the Boo…Worlds Cutest Dod series,
    :v

  74. Charlie F says:

    The school needs to get more books on different countries around the world.

  75. Tyler Ouellette says:

    Mrs. Patterson can you check if there is a book called Real Steel and can you get Transformer books

  76. Tyler-john R. says:

    The Deltora Quest books are great and it would be great if we had more.

    • Brendan M. says:

      We should have the Dragons of Deltora series too. I can’t find all of them but the first book is really good!

  77. Colin K. says:

    I think the Media Center should have the book called Benedict Arnold

  78. Skyelynne W. says:

    Mrs. Patterson you should have a book called Whatever After–Fairest of Them All it is a really great book and I love it plus it is from Sarah Mlynowski.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Thanks for the suggestion, Skye. I read the reviews on NoveList K-8 Plus, and it sounds perfect for kids who like fairytale fantasies, and humor!

  79. Charlie F. says:

    I think the media center should order the Hunger Games on audio.

  80. Joe M. says:

    I would suggest the Brotherband Chronicle by John Flanagan. It is a sister series to The Ranger’s Apprentice series.

    • Mrs. Patterson says:

      Wow! Thanks for the insider’s tip– I know all Flanagan fans will appreciate your mentioning his other series! Will order for sure.

      • Gage N. says:

        I have read all the Rangers Apprentice books and loved them. I’m sure Brotherband Chronicles will be just as good.

    • David L. says:

      I agree completely, “The Brotherband Chronicles” is a must-have in this library, along with “The Lost Stories” both incredible books by an incredible author, John Flanagan.

  81. Rya M. says:

    I think that the Media Center should add the 100 Cupboards series, that includes 100 Cupboards, and Dandelion Fire. I don’t know if there is a third, but judging on how good the series is, I think the author would make another. 🙂

Leave a Reply

