New books…ahhhh…

Posted: September 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

There’s nothing like the feel of a brand new book. The covers are still shiny, the pages crisp, the stories yet to be discovered. But, truth be told, my favorite book is the one that has had its spine taped, the occasional page dog-eared, and a slightly dull cover, because it means that book has been read, over and over again, by the students and teachers at JFDS.

I hope one of my favorite books that I read this summer becomes just that, well-read, and well-loved. It is called A Long Walk to Water by Linda Sue Park. It appears on this year’s Maine Student Book Award list for 2011-2012, and I am thrilled the MSBA committee has included such a powerful story about the ethnic conflicts in Sudan. I hope this story will find its way into many of our students hands this year, and they enjoy the story of Salva and Nya as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

